John I. Gallin 博士

Associate Director, Office of Clinical Research and Chief Scientific Officer, 
Clinical Center National Institutes of Health

Dr. John Gallin serves as NIH's associate director for clinical research and chief scientific  officer of the NIH Clinical Center. Dr. Gallin was the director of the NIH Clinical Center from 1994 to 2017.The Clinical Center serves the research needs of 17 NIH institutes and is the largest hospital in the world totally dedicated to clinical research. During his tenure as director of the Clinical Center, Dr. Gallin oversaw the design and construction of a new research hospital for the Clinical Center, the Mark O. Hatfield Clinical Research Center, which opened to patients in 2005; the establishment of a new curriculum for clinical research training now offered globally; and development of new information systems for biomedical translational and clinical research. In 2011, under Dr. Gallin's leadership, the Clinical Center received the Lasker~Bloomberg Public Service Award. Dr. Gallin has continued to be an active clinician and researcher. His primary research interest is in a rare hereditary immune disorder, chronic granulomatous disease (CGD). His laboratory described the genetic basis for several forms of CGD and has done pioneering research that has reduced life-threatening bacterial and fungal infections in patients with CGD.
Honors and Awards
• Elected to Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, 1996 (now National Academy of Medicine)
• Society for Leukocyte Biology Marie T. Bonazinga Award for Excellence in Leukocyte Biology, 2002
• American College of Physicians' Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award II, “To that individual or organization whose recent original approach in the delivery of health care or in the design of facilities, for its delivery will increase its clinical and/or economic effectiveness.” 2006.  
• Fellow, American College of Physicians, 2006
• Distinguished Clinical Teacher Award, NIH Fellows Committee, 2007
• Master of the American College of Physicians, 2008
• Honorary Professor, Peking Union Medical College, 2008
• National Organization for Rare Diseases National Health Leadership Award, 2009
• GlobalMD Challenge Award for the Sino-American Clinical Research Initiative, 2010
• Received Lasker~Bloomberg Public Service Award on behalf of NIH Clinical Center, 2011
• Elected to “Best Doctors”, 2011
• Faculty of 1000, London, England, 2011
Abbey Rare Voice Award, Every Life Foundation for Rare Diseases, 2016